Mercedes AMG Petronas F1: Saudi Arabian GP Race Preview

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1: Saudi Arabian GP Race Preview

15.03.2023: STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIX Jeddah Corniche Circuit 17-19 March 2023 Looking ahead to the second round of the 2023 Formula One season in Saudi Arabia ē Toto Talks Saudi Arabia ē Fact File: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix



STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIX
Jeddah Corniche Circuit
17-19 March 2023

 

 
Looking ahead to the second round of the 2023 Formula One season in Saudi Arabia


•    Toto Talks Saudi Arabia


•    Fact File: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

 

Toto Talks Saudi Arabia

 


Our performance in Bahrain wasn't where we want it to be. But this is the position we find ourselves in and it is already full steam ahead on the car, understanding it and working to get it in a better place. That's an exciting challenge for all of us.
 


Since Bahrain, we have had open and honest discussions from which we started to plan our fight back. In the short term, leaving no stone unturned in the search for performance. In the longer term, focusing our development to determine how we get to the front. I've already felt the energy and determination in the factory and know that will continue moving forward.
 


Anything can happen in motor racing, so we'll be working in Jeddah to maximise every part of our performance, chasing every point, every position, and every millisecond. That's one of the huge strengths of our driver line-up with Lewis and George. We are racers and giving everything we've got, every time we go on track.
 


This weekend in Saudi Arabia we will learn more about W14, its characteristics and its limitations. It provides a very different test to Bahrain, and it will be interesting to see how the car reacts. We are bringing some small developments to the car: they won't be game changers, but they can start moving us in the right direction. And we'll be pushing as hard as we can to create opportunities, and hopefully will give us a better account of ourselves than in Bahrain.
 





 
Fact File: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix




•    The Saudi Arabian Grand Prix is held on the Jeddah Corniche Circuit, located in a waterfront area next to the Red Sea.


•    The location presents similar challenges to Abu Dhabi with sand blowing onto the track and changes in wind direction from day to night.


•    The Jeddah Corniche Circuit has the most corners of any track on the F1 calendar with 27: 16 left and 11 right.


•    It is also the second-longest track we visit at 6.174km. Energy management across the lap is therefore tricky and puts more focus on the MGU-H and hybrid system performance.


•    With numerous long straights, drivers spend over 80% of the lap at full throttle and the circuit is ranked first in terms of time spent, and distance covered, using this metric.


•    There are six braking events across the lap with two of those designated as 'heavy'.


•    Turn 13 has a 12% gradient, with banked corners opening up more lines and helping to build momentum onto the next sweeping, high-speed section.


•    Turn 2 is the slowest corner on the circuit, taken around 80 km/h, whilst the quickest are Turns 20, 21, and 26 which are taken at 300 km/h.


•    Sensitivity, which describes where you find lap time, is biased very strongly towards high-speed corner performance.


•    Owing to its nature as a street circuit, Jeddah has a high risk of incidents leading to Safety Cars. Across the two previous races in Saudi Arabia, there have been two full Safety Car periods, two red flags, and five Virtual Safety Car periods.


•    Several track changes have been made following last year's race "to deliver smoother, safer, and even more exciting racing."

 

 

•    These include:


o    'Rumble Lines' - which cause traction to be lost and slowing cars down have been added at Turns 3, 14, 19, 20, and 21.


o    Steel kerbs have been replaced by bevelled kerbs at Turns 4, 8, 10, 11, 17, and 23.


o    Driver sightlines, a concern in the last two editions, have been improved with the fence wall moved back at Turns 14 and 20 by 7.5m and 5m respectively.


o    The fence wall at Turns 8 and 10 have also been adjusted to improve visibility of the corner ahead.


o    Turns 22 and 23 have also been amended with the fence at Turn 23 adjusted and a bevelled kerb added - this is expected to reduce speeds there by approximately 50 km/h.

 


- Bradley Lord, photos Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-saudi-arabian-gp-race-preview---248567.html

15.03.2023 / MaP

More News

MoneyGram Haas F1 Team Meets with AISJ Scholars Ahead of the FORMULA 1 STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIX 2023
15.03.2023
F1’s only American Team brought its Senior Race and Performance Engineers to meet with a selection of STEM scholars at the American International School of Jeddah.   MoneyGram Haas F1 Team - the only American team on the Formula 1 grid &n more >>
Williams Racing F1 driver quotes ahead of Saudi Arabian Grand Prix
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Alex Albon: Jeddah is a really fun street track and I'm looking forward to it, however it's one of those tracks where confidence is very important, and you need to build up to more >>
Williams Racing F1 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix preview
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023    Dave Robson, Head of Vehicle Performance: We return to Jeddah for the second race of the of 2023 season. Whilst the circuit has undergone some s more >>
Introducing the Girard-Perregaux Laureato Green Ceramic Aston Martin Edition
15.03.2023
•    First ever green ceramic Laureato timepiece celebrates partnership between Aston Martin and Girard-Perregaux•    The limited-edition timepiece also marks Aston Martin’s iconic association with the colour green, from its early heritage in motorsport to today’s Aston Martin Racing Green&bull more >>
Yuki Tsunoda looking forward to top last year performance at Jeddah Circuit
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023    “From the weekend in Bahrain, it’s clear that our performance is quite far away from where we wanted to be in the more >>
Nyck de Vries ahead Saudi Arabian GP - Get it done
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023    Nyck de Vries“It felt great to finally really start our season and campaign together in Bahrain. It’s more >>
Nico Hulkenberg thoughts on Saudi Arabian GP - Unique and special
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023You achieved 12th place in your second race as a ‘super-sub’ in 2022 - what’s your assessment of the track?“T more >>
Kevin Magnussen ahead of Saudi-Arabian GP - Thrilling place to drive
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023You achieved ninth place in Saudi Arabia last year. Did that validate that the VF-22 could achieve good results last season and it wasn’t a lucky one-off at the season more >>
Guenther Steiner - Hopefully we get it in a good window
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Guenther Steiner – Team PrincipalSeveral days removed from the opening more >>
MoneyGram Haas F1 Teamís Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Preview
15.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023MoneyGram Haas F1 Team’s 2023 FIA Formula 1 World Championship campaign will continue with Round 2, the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, at the Jeddah Corniche Circuit. more >>
SAUDIA named as Official Global Airline Partner of Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula Oneô Team
15.03.2023
SAUDIA, the national flag carrier of Saudi Arabia, has been named the Official Global Airline Partner of the Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One™ Team (AMF1) from the 2023 season.SAUDIA connects guests from more than 100 destinations around the more >>
Zhou Guanyu ahead of Saudi Arabian GP - Aim even higher
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023   Zhou Guanyu (Car 24): “Starting the season with points was a good motivation for the team, myself included – I was happy to more >>
Valtteri Bottas - Room for improvement in Saudi-Arabia
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Valtteri Bottas (Car 77)“We have been off to a great start in Bahrain, scoring a top-ten finish at the first race of the season. more >>
Alessandro Alunni Bravi thoughts on Saudi Arabian GP
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Alessandro Alunni Bravi, Team Representative“Scoring points on debut was a great way to kick-off our season, a reward for the hard work done by more >>
Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake - 2023 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix preview
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023    Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake heads to Jeddah for the second round of the 2023 Formula One World Championship, the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix. After a good showing in the season more >>
Oracle Red Bull Racing F1 Saudi-Arabian GP preview
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023•    Oracle Red Bull Racing led every lap of race one in Bahrain, something the Team only achieved in two Grand Prixs during the entire 2022 season (Emilia Rom more >>
Sergio Perez - Hopefully my turn to win in Saudi-Arabian GP
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023We have to try and keep the momentum going from Bahrain. There are definitely a lot of improvements we can still do, to try and make our car better. more >>
Max Verstappen enjoy going back to race at Jeddah Corniche Circuit
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023After a great start in Bahrain I don’t expect it to be an easy task in Jeddah, it is a completely different circuit and needs the car to be quick. more >>
BWT Alpine F1 Team Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Factfile and stats
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Driver and Team Facts and Stats: Jeddah•    The Jeddah Corniche Circuit is the fastest street circuit on the 2023 F1 calen more >>
Pierre Gasly - Moving on up
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Pierre Gasly scored two points on his Alpine debut, after rising from the back of the grid to ninth place in Bahrain. A disappointing Saturday Qualifying means Pierre is fired u more >>
Esteban Ocon ahead of Saudi Arabian GP - Fresh start
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023Things did not go to plan for Esteban Ocon in Bahrain. After a strong Saturday showing by reaching Q3 in impressive style, the Frenchman left empty-handed from the race. Esteban sees more >>
BWT Alpine F1 Team - Itís a marathon, not a sprint
14.03.2023
STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIXJeddah Corniche Circuit17-19 March 2023The team heads to Saudi Arabia for the second race of the season determined for a cleaner and better executed race weekend than shown in Bahrain. Team Principal Otmar Szafnauer more >>
Williams Racing announces Frederic Brousseau as Chief Operating Officer
14.03.2023
Williams Racing today announces the appointment of Frederic Brousseau as Chief Operating Officer. After a 26-year career in the aerospace industry, Frederic will join the celebrated Formula 1 team in April.  Frederic began his career with Pra more >>
Pirelli - The tyres on track at Jeddah
13.03.2023
Mario Isola - Motorsport Director "It’s vital to find the right setup and be ready for anything at Jeddah: a track that’s very different to Bahrain" "For the rapid Jeddah track, we have confirmed the same compound choices as last year as they showed very good consistency throughout the race weekend. In the two race more >>
New era of F1® in Schools car design for Aramco F1® in Schools World Finals
13.03.2023
The Aramco F1® in Schools World Finals 2023 will begin a new era of F1® in Schools car design with rule changes introduced to reflect advances in the design of Formula 1® cars. These include a halo device, wider wheels and more intricate front and rear wings. more >>
Valtteri Bottas picks up his Giulia GTAm
13.03.2023
•    The Finnish driver of the Alfa Romeo F1 Team picked up his personal Giulia GTAm, the ultimate expression of the Alfa Romeo's style, mechanics and sportiness.   •    Valtteri Bottas fully j more >>
Scuderia AlphaTauri is pleased to announce that Basso Bikes is joining the team as its Official Bike Supplier.
11.03.2023
Led by Alcide Basso, the company has been making bikes in Vicenza, Italy since 1977 and is still very much a family run business. Racing is in the blood, with one of three brothers, Marino Basso, having won stage races at the major cycling Grand Tours, as well as being the 1972 Road Race World Champion.   more >>
AML and AMF1 celebrate International Womenís Day with top female leaders discussing progress, change and equity within the workplace
08.03.2023
Aston Martin (AML) and the Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One™ Team (AMF1) joined forces today to host a series of special events celebrating International Women’s Day.The events – panel discussions and workshops modera more >>
FORMULA 1 STC Saudi Arabian Grand Prix 2023 commits to sustainable waste management and recycling programmes
08.03.2023
Commitment made as part of race promoter’s ongoing sustainability strategy. The Saudi Motorsport Company (SMC) – Promoter of the FORMULA 1 STC SAUDI ARABIAN GRAND PRIX 2023 - has today announced its commitment to ensure event waste is re more >>
Gilkes completes Rodin Carlinís F1 Academy line-up
08.03.2023
Rodin Carlin is pleased to announce that Megan Gilkes will complete the team’s line up for the 2023 F1 Academy.  GB4 race winner Gilkes joins already announced drivers Abbi Pulling and Jessica Edgar for the inaugural season of the all-women driver championship which kicks off at Red Bull Ring in April.   more >>
Flying high together: Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake extends partnership with Edelweiss
08.03.2023
Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake and Edelweiss will continue their journey together, as the team extends its partnership with the Swiss air company. Through the agreement, Edelweiss will be Airline Supplier of Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake for a third c more >>
Celebrating STEM Success! Graduation ceremony for our Mulberry STEM Academy 2022 scholars.
07.03.2023
The Mulberry STEM Academy is an innovative partnership between Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd and the Mulberry Schools Trust. Launched in 2020 as part of our Accelerate 25 programme to become a more diverse and inclusive team, the STEM Academy focuses on innovation, motivation and education. more >>
Who Are The Early Favorites For The F1 2023 Title?
07.03.2023
With the 2023 Formula 1 season already underway, fans are eager to see who will be the top contenders for the championship. This season has so many talented drivers and teams in the mix, and it's unclear who will come out on top. This article will examine which drivers and teams are the early favorites for the F1 2023 title more >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain GP - The race from a tyre point of view
05.03.2023
GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSakhir, Bahrain3-5 March 2023Sunday, March 5th 2023Mario Isola - Motorsport Director "The race strategies played out largely as expected at the fir more >>
Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Bahrain GP race - Fantastic result
05.03.2023
GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSakhir, Bahrain3-5 March 2023Sunday, March 5th 2023"Today’s fantastic result is the culmination of the hard work over many months from the team"In Numbers more >>
Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake Bahrain GP race - Well done
05.03.2023
GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSakhir, Bahrain3-5 March 2023Sunday, March 5th 2023     Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake claimed four points in the season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix, as Valtteri Bottas’s eighth place cro more >>
BWT Alpine Racing F1 Bahrain GP -First race, first points
05.03.2023
    GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSakhir, Bahrain3-5 March 2023Sunday, March 5th 2023First race, first points for BWT Alpine F1 Team in challenging Bahrain season opener more >>
Oracle Red Bull Racing Bahrain GP race - the start we wanted
05.03.2023
GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSakhir, Bahrain3-5 March 2023Sunday, March 5th 2023 This is exactly the start we wanted, a one-two finish. I’m incredibly proud that we have achieved this as a Team.M more >>
McLaren Racing F1 Bahrain GP race - Not what we wanted
05.03.2023
    GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSakhir, Bahrain3-5 March 2023Sunday, March 5th 2023Obviously not the finish to the weekend that I wanted but there are positives to take"As it happe more >>

Kategorien

2001-2023 automobilsport.com full copyright