Saudi officials announce revised Rally Jeddah

Saudi officials announce revised Rally Jeddah

26.10.2016: ... that they hope will form part of new 2017 Gulf Challenge RALLY JEDDAH 2016, November 17-18

... that they hope will form part of new 2017 Gulf Challenge

RALLY JEDDAH 2016, November 17-18

•    Two-day event runs with official car support from Naghi Motors – Land Rover

Officials in Saudi Arabia have announced a revised version of this year’s Rally Jeddah, which will run as a cross-country rally across the Kingdom’s western deserts for cars, motorcycles and quads on November 17-18.

The event runs to a shorter two-day format this year, as it is doubling up as an official candidate event for the recently announced 2017 Gulf Challenge.

The brainchild of Abdullah Bakhashab, the former FIA Middle East Rally Champion, the event is supported by Mohamed Yousef Naghi Motors (MYN Motors) – Land Rover once again and is sanctioned by the FIA.

Rally Jeddah has the full support of the Saudi Arabian Motor Federation (SAMF) and runs under the patronage of H.R.H. Prince Mishaal Bin Majid Bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud, Governor of Jeddah and head of Rally Jeddah’s higher organising committee.

“This year we are running a two-day rally and a shorter format,” said Bakhashab. “We want to be part of the new Gulf Challenge alongside events in Oman, Qatar and the UAE next year and this is an excellent opportunity for us to get the event running smoothly in the same format as the Gulf Challenge in readiness for next season.”

Additional support for Rally Jeddah comes from the MBC Group, Al-Arabia advertising, Al-Madina newspaper and Total Oils.

Rally headquarters will be based at the Makarem Resort from Thursday November 17th.  Administration checks will be carried out at the HQ, while scrutineering will be located at the nearby Land Rover dealership’s workshops in Auto Mall on Malik Street.

After a ceremonial start on North Abhur from 19.30hrs, the competitive action starts with a timed super special stage of around three kilometres on 20.00hrs on Thursday, November 17th.

The action then switches to a challenging desert selective section of around 220km in the Khulais area from 13.00hrs on Friday November 18th. The prize giving will take place adjacent to the super special stage from 21.00hrs on Friday evening.

Saudi Arabia’s leading WRC and cross-country rallying star Yazeed Al-Rajhi won the first two editions of Rally Jeddah, initially with French navigator Alex Winocq in 2014 and with his regular German navigator Timo Gottschalk last year. Fellow countryman Monif Al-Shammeri won T2 and Abdul-Majeed Al-Khulaifi has won the motorcycle category on two occasions.

The event is being organised with the support of the higher committee of Rally Jeddah, which incorporates the General Presidency of Youth Welfare, Jeddah Municipality, the Jeddah Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Saudi Commission for Tourism and Antiques in the Mecca region and a branch of the Saudi Red Crescent in Mecca.

Support has also been received from Jeddah police and traffic departments and civil defence administration.

Entries close on Sunday, November 13th. For further information on entries and concessions, contact Abdullah Bakhashab, Abdullah S. M. Bakhashab Est. Trading and Marketing Services, P.O. Box 16263, Jeddah 21464, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Tel: + 966 12 6513574, Fax: + 966 12 6520310, E-mail:,

Neil Perkins,  also photos


26.10.2016 / MaP

More News

Debatista takes first SWS Junior Cup podium at Dubai Kartdrome
Al Mehairi and Elmosi take top honours in SWS Senior Cupphoto caption : SWS Junior Cup Podium at Dubai KartdromeThe established order of the Junior Cup in the Sodi World Series (SWS) Sprint R more >>
Lamborghini Super Trofeo new Middle East series at the start
•    After Europe, Asia and North America, the fourth international one-make series is ready to debut•    Events on Abu Dhabi and Dubai circuits from February 2017•    Same c more >>
CG Pro wins Endurance Championship round 3 at Dubai Kartdrome
Fly Emirates 1 Tops Corporate Category and LD Takes Nations Cupphoto caption:    CG Pro Wins Endurance Championship Driven By MINI Round Three. more >>
Endurance Championship driven by Mini returns at Dubai Kartdrome
CG Racing Pro and BatelcoDrag965 Level On Pointsphoto caption:    Endurance Championship Driven by MINI at Dubai KartdromeThe Endurance Championship Driven by MINI returns to more >>
Losail Circuit Sports Club opens again Karting and Mini Moto Track
Losail Circuit Sports Club opens again its outdoor Karting and Mini Moto track starting from Thursday 20th October with track activity from 17:00 to 22:00. The price for a karting session is 100 QAR for 15 minutes and for both ac more >>
Sunderland Bounces back from World Championship
Heartbreak to take Dominant Emirates Desert Championship Win    Mohammed Ben Sulayem (Second from left) along with Sh. Hamad Al Thani (Left) Khalid Al Jafla (Second from Right more >>
108 Drivers in First Round of Emirates Desert Championship
The Automobile and Touring Club of UAE (ATCUAE) announced today that 108 drivers will be competing in the first round of the Emirates Desert Championship, the UAE’s national Baja rally championship for cars, buggies, motorcycles and quads. The fourth se more >>
Emirates Desert Championship returns for Season Four
The fourth season of the Emirates Desert Championship, the UAE’s national Baja rally championship for cars, buggies, motorcycles and quads, kicks off this coming Friday 14th October 2016 with the opening round taking place in Dubai.Over the first three y more >>
United Autosports to enter Gulf 12 Hours
... with three Ligier LMP3 cars•    United Autosports confirm intention to enter Gulf 12 Hours•    Team to run three Ligier JS P3 cars at Yas Marina Circuit•  &nb more >>
Gulf Challenge: Exciting new GCC Motorsport Championship launched
Cost Control a major featureThe six GCC motorsport federations have today, Saturday, October 8th in Dubai, launched an ambitious new motorsport series that will allow for bikes, cars and buggies compete in the Gulf Challenge will start in 2017. more >>


2001-2023 full copyright